Member Information
  • Documents
  • READ - Bylaws
  • READ - Amendments
  • Position Papers
    • READ - VAD Guidelines (4/15/15)
    • READ - AED Use in Children (1/9/06)
    • READ - Airway Attempt Definition
    • READ - Airway Metrics
    • READ - Response Interval
  • Legislative Position Letters
    • READ - AB 1795 - Joint Support (1/9/18)

3-16-2021 | Garden Grove

Location TBD

6-15-2021 | Sacramento

Location TBD

9-21-2021 | San Diego

Location TBD

12-7-2021 | San Francisco

Location TBD
f

3-17-2020 | Garden Grove

Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim-South
11767 Harbor Blvd.
Garden Grove, CA 92840

6-16-2020 | Sacramento

UC Davis MIND Institute
2825 50th Street
Sacramento, CA 95817

9-15-2020 | San Diego

Holiday Inn Bayside Hotel
4875 North Harbor Drive
San Diego, CA 92106

12-8-2020 | San Francisco

Marines' Memorial Club & Hotel
609 Sutter Street
San Francisco, CA 94102

3-19-2019 | Garden Grove

Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim-South
11767 Harbor Blvd.
Garden Grove, CA 92840

6-18-2019 | Sacramento

Courtyard by Marriott Sacramento Cal Expo
1782 Tribute Road
Sacramento, CA 95815

9-17-2019 | San Diego

Holiday Inn Bayside Hotel
4875 North Harbor Drive
San Diego, CA 92106

12-3-2019 | San Francisco

Marines' Memorial Club & Hotel
609 Sutter Street
San Francisco, CA 94102

3-20-2018 | Anaheim

Sheraton Park Hotel Anaheim Resort
1855 South Harbor Blvd.
Anaheim, CA 92802

6-19-2018 | Sacramento

DoubleTree Suites
11260 Point East Drive,
Rancho Cordova, California, 95742

9-11-2018 | San Diego

Holiday Inn Bayside Hotel
4875 North Harbor Drive
San Diego, CA 92106

12-4-2018 | San Francisco

Marines' Memorial Club & Hotel
609 Sutter Street
San Francisco, CA 94102

3-14-2017 | Garden Grove

Embassy Suite Anaheim South
11767 Harbor Blvd
Garden Grove, CA 92840

6-20-2017 | Sacramento

Courtyard by Mariott - Sacramento Cal Expo
1782 Tribute Road
Sacramento, CA 95815

9-12-2017 | San Diego

Holiday Inn Bayside Hotel
4875 North Harbor Drive
San Diego, CA 92106

12-5-2017 | San Francisco

Marines' Memorial Club & Hotel
609 Sutter Street
San Francisco, CA 94102

3-15-2016 | Garden Grove

Embassy Suites Garden Grove Hotel
11767 Harbor Blvd
Garden Grove, CA 92840

6-14-2016 | Sacramento

Crowne Plaza Hotel
5321 Date Ave
Sacramento, CA 92840

9-20-2016 | San Diego

Holiday Inn Bayside
4875 North Harbor Drive
San Diego, CA 92106

12-13-2016 | San Francisco

Marines' Memorial Club & Hotel
609 Sutter Street
San Francisco, CA 94102

1-22-2015 | New Orleans

Hyatt Regency
601 Loyola Avenue
New Orleans, Louisiana, 70113

3-17-2015 | Los Angeles

Westin LAX,Los Angeles
5400 West Century Boulevard
Los Angeles, CA 90045

5-26-2015 | San Diego

Loews Coronado Bay Resort
4000 Coronado Bay Rd.
San Diego, CA 92118

5-27 to 5-28 | EMSAAC Conf.

Loews Coronado Bay Resort
4000 Coronado Bay Rd.
San Diego, CA 92118

9-1-2015 | San Diego

Holiday Inn Bayside
4875 North Harbor Drive
San Diego, CA 92106

12-1-2015 | San Francisco

Marines' Memorial Club & Hotel
609 Sutter Street
San Francisco, CA 94102

3-18-14 | Los Angeles

Westin Los Angeles Hotel
5400 West Century Blvd
Los Angeles, CA 90045

5-27-14 | San Diego

Loews Coronado Bay Resort
4000 Coronado Bay Rd.
San Diego, CA 92118

9-16-14 | San Diego

Kona Kai Resort, Spa & Marina
1551 Shelter Island Dr.
San Diego, CA 92106

12-2-14 | San Francisco

Marines’ Memorial Club & Hotel
609 Sutter Street
San Francisco, CA 94102

Mar 19, 2013, Los Angeles

May 28, 2013, San Diego


Sep 17, 2013, San Diego

Dec 3, 2013, San Francisco

Mar 20, 2012, Los Angeles

Jun 19, 2012, Sacramento


Sep 18, 2012, San Diego

Dec 4, 2012, San Francisco

Member Dues & Payments
Pay EMDAC member dues and other fees associated with membership

Assoc. Member

$ 400

  • Physician who is a former active member
  • Health officer with responsibility for a local Emergency Medical Services agency
  • Base hospital medical director
  • Medical director of training agencies and service agencies

EMDAC Member

$ 400

  • Physician who is directly or actively involved in the administration, development or management of an Emergency Medical Services agency
  • Medical directors
  • Assistant medical directors
  • Associate medical directors
  • Deputy medical directors

Guest Lunch

$ 60

  • Pay for EMDAC meeting lunches by clicking below.

EMDAC Officers
Kimberly Freeman

Kimberly Freeman

President

Nichole Bosson

Nichole Bosson, MD

President Elect

Dave Ghilarducci, M.D.

Dave Ghilarducci, M.D.

Past President

Kathy Staats, M.D.

Kathy Staats, M.D.

Secretary

Daniel Shepherd

Daniel Shepherd, MD

Treasurer

Reza Vaezazizi, MD, FACEP

Reza Vaezazizi, MD, FACEP

At-large-Assoc. Member

  • Ken Miller - Chair
  • John Brown
  • Kimberly Freeman
  • Atilla Uner
  • Nichole Bosson
  • Eric Rudnick
  • Katherine Shafer
  • Greg Gilbert
  • Kris Lyon
  • Kathy Staats
  • Karl Sporer - Chair
  • Greg Gilbert
  • Marianne Gausche-Hill
  • Angelo Salvucci
  • John Brown
  • Kristi Koenig
  • Greg Gilbert
  • Karl Sporer
  • Tom Ronay
  • Bruce Haynes
  • Dustin Ballard
  • Reza Vaezazizi
  • Ken Miller
EMDAC Members | LEMSA Medical Directors
The Mission of EMDAC is to provide leadership and expert opinion in the medical oversight, direction and coordination of Emergency Medical Services for the people of the State of California
Karl Sporer
Alameda County

Karl Sporer, M.D., FACEP, FACP
EMS Medical Director
1000 San Leandro Blvd.
Ste. 100
San Leandro, CA 94577
(510) 618-2050

Jim Andrews
Central California EMS Agency
(Fresno, Kings, Madera, Tulare)

Jim Andrews, M.D.
EMS Medical Director
1221 Fulton Mall
PO Box 11867
Fresno, CA 93775
(559) 445-3387

Mark Luoto
Coastal Valleys EMS Agency
(Sonoma & Mendocino)

Mark Luoto, M.D., FACEP
EMS Medical Director (Sonoma)
475 Aviation Blvd.
Suite 200
Santa Rosa, CA 95403
(707) 565-6501

Senai Kidane, MD FACEP
Contra Costa County

Senai Kidane, MD, FACEP
EMS Medical Director
1340 Arnold Drive
Suite 126
Martinez, CA 94553
(925) 608-5437
senkid@hotmail.com

David Brazzel
El Dorado County

Dr. David Brazzel, M.D.
EMS Medical Director
415 Placerville Dr.
Ste J
Placerville, CA 95667
(530) 621-6500

Kathy Staats, MD
Imperial County

Kathy Staats, MD
935 Broadway Street
El Centro, CA 92243
katherinestaats@gmail.com
(760) 482-2904

Reza Vaezazizi
Inland Counties EMS Agency
(San Bernardino, Inyo, Mono)

Reza Vaezazizi, M.D., FACEP
1425 South "D" Street
San Bernardino, CA 92415
RVaezazizi@cao.sbcounty.gov
(909) 388-5823

Robert Barnes
Kern County

Kristopher Lyon, M.D., FACEP
EMS Medical Director
1800 Mt. Vernon Avenue
Bakersfield, CA 93306-3302
lyonk@co.kern.ca.us

Marianne Guasche-Hill
Los Angeles County

Marianne Gausche-Hill, M.D., FACEP, FAAP, FAEMS
10100 Pioneer Blvd., #200
Santa Fe Springs, CA 90670
Mgausche-hill@dhs.lacounty.gov
Office: 562-378-1600
Cell: 310-963-8014

Dustin Ballard
Marin County

Dustin Ballard, M.D.
1600 Los Gamos Dr., Suite 220
San Rafael, CA 94903
DBallard@marincounty.org
(415) 473-3057

Ajinder Singh
Merced County

Ajinder Singh, MD, CPE
Chair, Department of Emergency Medicine
Mercy Medical Center Merced, CA
Chief Compliance Officer, VEP
(209) 233-1467

No Photo Available
Monterey County

John Beuerle, MD
1270 Natividad Road
Salinas, CA 93906
BeuerleJ@co.monterey.ca.us
(831) 755-4942
(831) 755-5013

Greg Kann
Mountain Valley EMS Agency
(Alpine, Amador, Calaveras, Mariposa, Stanislaus)

Greg Kann, MD
1101 Standiford Ave #D1
Modesto, CA 95350
greg.kann@gmail.com

Zita Konik, M.D.
Napa County EMS

Zita Konik, MD
2751 Napa Valley Corporate Dr.
Napa, CA 94558
Zita.Konik@countyofnapa.org

 Jeffrey Kepple, MD
NorCal EMS Agency

Jeffrey Kepple, MD


Matt Karp, M.D.
North Coast EMS Agency

Matt Karp, M.D.
3340 Glenwood Ave.
Eureka, CA 95501
karp.matt@gmail.com

Carl Schulz, MD
Orange County

Carl Schulz, MD
405 West Fifth Street #301A
Santa Ana, CA 92701
Schultzc@uci.edu

Gagandeep Grewal
Orange CountyAssoc. Medical Director

Gagandeep Grewal, MD
405 West Fifth Street #301A
Santa Ana, CA 92701
ggrewal@ochca.com

Reza Vaezazizi
Riverside County

Reza Vaezazizi, M.D., FACEP
1425 South "D" Street
San Bernardino, CA 92415
RVaezazizi@cao.sbcounty.gov
(909) 388-5823

Hernando Garzon
Sacramento County

Hernando Garzon, M.D., FACEP
9616 Micron Ave, #635
Sacramento, CA 95827
garzonh@saccounty.net
(916) 875-9753

Dave Ghilarducci
San Benito County

Dave Ghilarducci, M.D.
1111 San Felipe Rd., #102
Hollister, CA 95023
daveghil@mac.com
(831) 636-4066

Dave Ghilarducci
Santa Cruz County

Dave Ghilarducci, M.D.
1080 Emeline Avenue
Santa Cruz, CA 95060
daveghil@mac.com
(831) 454-4000

Kristi Koenig
San Diego County

Kristi Koenig, MD
6255 Mission Gorge Road
San Diego, CA 92120
kkoenig@uci.edu
(619) 285-6429

John Brown
City and County of San Francisco County

John Brown, MD, MPA, FACEP
30 Van Ness, #3300
San Francisco, CA 94102
John.Brown@sfgov.org
(415) 487-5034
(209) 468-6818

Katherine Shafer
San Joaquin County
Medical Director

Katherine Shafer, MD
kshafer@sjgov.org

Thomas G. Ronay
San Luis Obispo County

Thomas G. Ronay, M.D.
2180 Johnson Ave, 2nd Fl
San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
tronay@sloemsa.org
(805) 546-8728

Gregory H. Gilbert
San Mateo County

Gregory H. Gilbert, M.D., FAAEM
225 37TH Avenue
San Mateo, CA 94403
ghgilbert@stanford.edu
(650) 573-2564

Daniel Shepherd
Santa Barbara County

Daniel Shepherd, M.D.
300 North San Antonio Rd.
Santa Barbara, CA 93110
Daniel.shepherd@sbcphd.org
805-681-5274
805-681-5274

Ken Miller
Santa Clara County

Ken Miller, MD, PhD
700 Empey Way
San Jose, CA 95128
408-794-0615
kenneth.miller@ems.sccgov.org

Troy Falck
Sierra-Sacramento Valley EMS Agency

Troy Falck, M.D., FACEP, FAAEM
5995 Pacific St.
Rocklin, CA 95677
troy.falck@ssvems.com
(916) 625-1700

Bryn Mumma
Solano County

Bryn Mumma, MD
275 Beck Ave., MS5-240
Fairfield, CA 94533
bemumma@ucdavis.edu
(707) 784-8155

Todd Stolp
Tuolumne County

Kimberly Freeman, MD, FACEP, NREMT-P
20111 Cedar Road North
Sonora, CA 95370
kfreeman@co.tuolumne.ca.us
(209) 533-7460

Daniel Shepherd
Ventura County

Daniel Shepherd, M.D.
2220 E. Gonzalez Rd. #130
Oxnard, CA 93036
daniel.shepherd@ventura.org
(805) 981-5304

John Rose
Yolo County

John Rose, MD
137 N Cottonwood St., Suite 2601
Woodland, CA 95695
jsrose@ucdavis.edu
Phone (530) 666-8645

Nicole Bosson
Los Angeles County
Asst. EMS Medical Director

Nichole Bosson, MD, MPH
10100 Pioneer Blvd., #200
Santa Fe Springs, CA 90670
nichole.bosson@gmail.com

Associate Members

Joe Barger, MD
Medical Director Emeritus


Kent Benedict, MD
Medical Director Emeritus

Peter Benson, M.D.
Contra Costa Fire Department
peterbenson@cep.com

Eli Carillo, MD
Stanford
eli.carrillo@stanford.edu

David Chase, MD, FACEP
Ventura County Fire Dept.
David.Chase@ventura.org

Marc Cohen, MD
Torrance Fire Department
mrc4@hotmail.com

Nicole D'Arcy, MD
Santa Clara Base Hospital
nicoloid@gmail.com

Dan Davis, MD
Riverside County Fire Department
danieldavismd@gmail.com

Joelle Donofrio, MD, FACEP
City of San Diego, EMS
UCSD, Department of Emergency Medicine
jjdonofrio@gmail.com

Robert Donovan
PHI, AMR Stanislaus
robert@radonovan.com

Peter Dsouza, MD
Stanford Life Flight
pdsouza@stanford.edu

Dave Duncan, M.D.
EMSA

Gregory Dunnavant, MD
California Parks
grd556@att.net

Jenny Farah, MD
UCSD
jfarah16@gmail.com

Marc Gautreau, M.D.
Stanford, School of Medicine
mgautreau@stanford.edu

Jay Goldman, M.D.
Kaiser Permanente - Ambulance Services
Jay.goldman@kp.org

Claus Hecht, MD
Medical Director/EMS, Orange County Fire Authority
claushecht@ocfa.org

Gene Hern, MD FACEP
Oakland FD, Berkeley FD, AMR Contra Costa
emergentt@gmail.com

Christopher Kahn, MD
City of San Diego, EMS
UC San Diego
ckahn@ucsd.edu

Robert Katzer, MD
Base Hospital Medical Director, Orange County
rkatzer@hs.uci.edu

Clayton Kazan, M.D.
LA County Fire
clayton.kazan@fire.lacounty.gov

Senai Kidane, MD, FACEP
Paramedics Plus
skidane@paramedicsplus.com

Richard King, M.D.
PHI Air Medical
rking@phihelico.com

Angelica Loza-Gomez, MD
USC LA Base Station/Glendale FD
angieloza3@gmail.com

David Malmud, MD, FACEP
AMR/ San Mateo/San Francisco
David.Malmud@amr.net

Garry McCalla, MD
REACH Air
Gary.Mccalla@reachair.com

Mary Mercer, MD
UCSF/SF General Hospital
Mary.mercer@ucsf.edu

Bill Mulkerin, M.D.
Stanford, School of Medicine
bill.mulkerin@gmail.com

Joe Nakagawa, MD
Medical Director, McCormick Ambulance Co
Tactical Medicine, Hawthorne Police Department
jnakagawa@gmail.com

Ron Ostrom, DO
Hall Ambulance Service

ostromr@hallamb.com

Troy Pennington, MD
Arrowhead Regional Medical Center
troy@armcems.com

Jim Pointer, MD
Medical Director Emeritus

Jason Prystowsky, M.D.
Santa Barbara City Fire Department
jprysto@gmail.com

David Riggs, MD
Kern County Fire Department
dr28199@hotmail.com

Brett Rosen, MD
Cal Fire
brettarosen@gmail.com

Eric Rudnick, MD
Medical Director Emeritus
mrudnick@hotmail.com

Jim Stubblefield, MD
Medical Director Emeritus

Ashley Sanello, MD
ashleysanello@gmail.com

Brian Savino, M.D.
Loma Linda, Department of Emergency Medicine
psavino@live.com

Schira Schlesinger, M.D.
Newport Beach Fire Department
sschlesi@uci.edu

David Shatz, M.D.
Sacramento Metro Fire Dept.
David.shatz@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu

Eric Silverman, MD
UCSF Base Hospital
Eric.Silverman@ucsf.edu

Christian Sloane, MD
Mercy Air Service/Air Methods
North County Dispatch Joint Powers Authority SD
csloane@health.ucsd.edu

Sam Stratton, MD
Medical Director Emeritus

Ken Stiver, MD
Medical Director Emeritus

Terence Sweeney, MD
Air Methods
Terence.Sweeney@vituity.com

Gary Tamkin, M.D.
CHP
gtamkin@icloud.com

Bill Teufel, MD, FACEP
Medical Director Emeritus

Steve Tharratt, MD, FACEP
Medical Director Emeritus

Devin Tsai
Marin EMS Agency
dtsai1999@gmail.com

Atilla Uner, MD, MPH, FAAEM, FACEP
Reach Air Medical Services
UCLA Center for Prehospital Care
auner@ucla.edu

Denise Whitfield, MD
Harbor UCLA/LA EMSA
denise.whitfield@gmail.com

Jack Wood, D.O.
National College of Technical Instruction
fivewood@winfirst.com

Clement Yeh, MD, FACP
EMS Medical Director - San Francisco Fire Department
Clement.Yeh@emergency.ucsf.edu

Fellow Members

Gurvijay Bains
Fellow  UCSF
gurvijay.bains@ucsf.edu

Amelia Breyre
Fellow UCSF
amelia.breyre@ucsf.edu

Allen Chang
Fellow Harbor-UCLA
achang8@dhs.lacounty.gov

Stephen DuMontier
Fellow Arrowhead
stephen.dumontier@gmail.com

Daniel Gruzman
Fellow LAC+USC
daniel.gruzman@gmail.com

Heidi Hutchison
Fellow UCSD
Sheidihutch805@gmail.com

Matt Maynard
Fellow UCD
mjmaynard@ucdavis.edu

David Obert
Fellow Stanford
bert@stanford.edu

Pranav Shetty
Fellow Harbor-UCLA
shetty@dhs.lacounty.gov

Cal Chiefs Reps

Leslie Parham
Cal Chiefs South

Kimberly Roderick
Cal Chiefs North

  • slide-2
    9-1-1 Dysfunction
    9-1-1 Dysfunction
Gov. Jerry Brown

Dear Governor Brown:
We want to bring to your attention a serious problem we see with the 9-1-1 system in California.

Read More
Letter to

Jerry Brown

9-1-1 Dysfunction Summaries

A summary of the articles referenced here. Full text of the articles are available by clicking "Read More" link for each article.

Read More
9-1-1 Dysfunction

Summaries

lights and sirens

A common tenet in emergency medical services (EMS) is that faster response equates to better patient outcome...

Read More
Prehospital Emergency Care

RESPONSE TIME AND MORTALITY

pre arrival instructions

Each year, millions of people around the world experience out-of-hospital cardiac arrest (OHCA), a condition characterized by unexpected cardiovascular collapse.

Read More
Circulation

Prearrival Instructions

OHCA

[D]ecreased response time interval and the use of two-tier rather than one-tier EMS systems may each be associated with significantly greater survival.

Read More
Annals of EM

Effectiveness of EMS in OHCA

stopwatch

The introduction of technology aimed at reducing the response times of emergency medical services has been one of the principal innovations over the last several decades.

Read More
Health Economics

Do Response Times Matter?