Member Information
  • Documents
  • READ - Bylaws
  • READ - Amendments
  • Position Papers
    • READ - VAD Guidelines (4/15/15)
    • READ - AED Use in Children (1/9/06)
  • Legislative Position Papers
    • READ - AB 430 - Trauma Assessment
    • READ - AB 1223 - Alternate Destinations
    • READ - AB 1129 - Data Collection

3-14-2017 | Garden Grove

Embassy Suite Anaheim South
11767 Harbor Blvd
Garden Grove, CA 92840

6-20-2017 | Sacramento

Courtyard by Mariott - Sac Cal Expo
1782 Tribute Road
Sacramento, CA 95815

9-12-2017 | San Diego

Holiday Inn Bayside
4875 North Harbor Drive
San Diego, CA 92106

12-5-2017 | San Francisco

Marines' Memorial Club & Hotel
609 Sutter Street
San Francisco, CA 94102

3-15-2016 | Garden Grove

Embassy Suites Garden Grove Hotel
11767 Harbor Blvd
Garden Grove, CA 92840

6-14-2016 | Sacramento

Crowne Plaza Hotel
5321 Date Ave
Sacramento, CA 92840

9-20-2016 | San Diego

Holiday Inn Bayside
4875 North Harbor Drive
San Diego, CA 92106

12-13-2016 | San Francisco

Marines' Memorial Club & Hotel
609 Sutter Street
San Francisco, CA 94102

1-22-2015 | New Orleans

Hyatt Regency
601 Loyola Avenue
New Orleans, Louisiana, 70113

3-17-2015 | Los Angeles

Westin LAX,Los Angeles
5400 West Century Boulevard
Los Angeles, CA 90045

5-26-2015 | San Diego

Loews Coronado Bay Resort
4000 Coronado Bay Rd.
San Diego, CA 92118

5-27 to 5-28 | EMSAAC Conf.

Loews Coronado Bay Resort
4000 Coronado Bay Rd.
San Diego, CA 92118

9-1-2015 | San Diego

Holiday Inn Bayside
4875 North Harbor Drive
San Diego, CA 92106

12-1-2015 | San Francisco

Marines' Memorial Club & Hotel
609 Sutter Street
San Francisco, CA 94102

3-18-14 | Los Angeles

Westin Los Angeles Hotel
5400 West Century Blvd
Los Angeles, CA 90045

5-27-14 | San Diego

Loews Coronado Bay Resort
4000 Coronado Bay Rd.
San Diego, CA 92118

9-16-14 | San Diego

Kona Kai Resort, Spa & Marina
1551 Shelter Island Dr.
San Diego, CA 92106

12-2-14 | San Francisco

Marines’ Memorial Club & Hotel
609 Sutter Street
San Francisco, CA 94102

Mar 19, 2013, Los Angeles

May 28, 2013, San Diego


Sep 17, 2013, San Diego

Dec 3, 2013, San Francisco

Mar 20, 2012, Los Angeles

Jun 19, 2012, Sacramento


Sep 18, 2012, San Diego

Dec 4, 2012, San Francisco

Member Dues & Payments
Pay EMDAC member dues and other fees associated with membership

Assoc. Member

$ 300

  • Physician who is a former active member
  • Health officer with responsibility for a local Emergency Medical Services agency
  • Base hospital medical director
  • Medical director of training agencies and service agencies

EMDAC Member

$ 300

  • Physician who is directly or actively involved in the administration, development or management of an Emergency Medical Services agency
  • Medical directors
  • Assistant medical directors
  • Associate medical directors
  • Deputy medical directors

Guest Lunch

$ 60

  • Pay for EMDAC meeting lunches by clicking below.

EMDAC Officers

Bruce Haynes, MD

President

Marianne Gausche-Hill, MD

President-Elect

Eric Rudnick

Eric Rudnick, MD

Secretary

Karl Sporer

Karl Sporer, MD

Treasurer

David Barnes, MD

At-large-Active Member

David Shatz, M.D.

Benjamin Squire, MD

At-large-Assoc. Member

  • Ken Miller - Chair
  • John Brown
  • Eric Rudnick
  • Ben Squire
  • Ken Stiver
  • Nichole Bosson
  • Hal Renollet - Chair
  • Ken Stiver
  • Sam Stratton
  • Greg Gilbert
  • David Goldstein
  • Chris Kahn
  • Kris Lyon
  • Karl Sporer - Chair
  • Greg Gilbert
  • Marianne Gausche-Hill
  • Angelo Salvucci
  • Eric Rudnick
  • John Brown
  • Kristi Koenig
  • Greg Gilbert
  • Karl Sporer
  • Tom Ronay
  • Bruce Haynes
  • Dustin Ballard
  • Reza Vaezazizi
  • Ken Miller
EMDAC Members | LEMSA Medical Directors
The Mission of EMDAC is to provide leadership and expert opinion in the medical oversight, direction and coordination of Emergency Medical Services for the people of the State of California
Karl Sporer
Alameda County

Karl Sporer, M.D., FACEP, FACP
EMS Medical Director
1000 San Leandro Blvd.
Ste. 100
San Leandro, CA 94577
(510) 618-2050

Jim Andrews
Central California EMS Agency
(Fresno, Kings, Madera, Tulare)

Jim Andrews, M.D.
EMS Medical Director
1221 Fulton Mall
PO Box 11867
Fresno, CA 93775
(559) 445-3387

Mark Luoto
Coastal Valleys EMS Agency
(Sonoma & Mendocino)

Mark Luoto, M.D., FACEP
EMS Medical Director (Sonoma)
475 Aviation Blvd.
Suite 200
Santa Rosa, CA 95403
(707) 565-6501

David Goldstein
Contra Costa County

David Goldstein, M.D.
EMS Medical Director
1340 Arnold Drive
Suite 126
Martinez, CA 94553
(925) 646-4690
David.goldstein@hsd.cccounty.us

David Brazzel
El Dorado County

Dr. David Brazzel, M.D.
EMS Medical Director
415 Placerville Dr.
Ste J
Placerville, CA 95667
(530) 621-6500

Bruce Haynes
Imperial County

Bruce Haynes, M.D.
935 Broadway Street
El Centro, CA 92243
Bruce.Haynes@sdcounty.ca.gov
(760) 482-2904

Reza Vaezazizi
Inland Counties EMS Agency
(San Bernardino, Inyo, Mono)

Reza Vaezazizi, M.D., FACEP
1425 South "D" Street
San Bernardino, CA 92415
RVaezazizi@cao.sbcounty.gov
(909) 388-5823

Robert Barnes
Kern County

Kristopher Lyon, M.D., FACEP
EMS Medical Director
1800 Mt. Vernon Avenue
Bakersfield, CA 93306-3302
lyonk@co.kern.ca.us

Marianne Guasche-Hill
Los Angeles County

Marianne Guasche-Hill, M.D., FACEP, FAAP
10100 Pioneer Blvd., #200
Santa Fe Springs, CA 90670
MGausche@emedharbor.edu
Office: 562 347 1600
Cell: 310 963 8014

Dustin Ballard
Marin County

Dustin Ballard, M.D.
1600 Los Gamos Dr., Suite 220
San Rafael, CA 94903
DBallard@marincounty.org
(415) 473-3057

Ajinder Singh
Merced County
Assoc. EMS Medical Director

Ajinder Singh, MD, CPE
Chair, Department of Emergency Medicine
Mercy Medical Center Merced, CA
Chief Compliance Officer, VEP
(209) 233-1467

James Stubblefield
Monterey County

James Stubblefield, M.D.,FACEP, FAAEM
1270 Natividad Road
Salinas, CA 93906
stubblefieldji@co.monterey.ca.us
(831) 755-4942
(831) 755-5013

Kevin Mackey
Mountain Valley EMS Agency
(Alpine, Amador, Calaveras, Mariposa, Stanislaus)

Kevin Mackey, M.D., FACEP
1101 Standiford Ave #D1
Modesto, CA 95350
drmackey@mvemsa.com
(209) 529-5085

Peter Benson
Napa County EMS

Peter Benson, M.D.
2334 Old Sonoma Road
Building G
Napa, CA 94559
PeterBenson@cep.com
(707) 253-4341

Ken Stiver
North Coast EMS Agency
(Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake)

Ken Stiver, M.D.
3340 Glenwood Ave.
Eureka, CA 95501
krs1147@aol.com
(707) 445-2081
Cell: (707) 832-3734

Eric M. Rudnick
Northern California EMS

Eric M. Rudnick, M.D., FACEP, FAAEM
1890 Park Marina Drive, Suite 200
Redding, CA 96001-0961
(530) 229-3979
erudnick@norcalems.org

Samuel J. Stratton
Orange County

Samuel J. Stratton, M.D., FACEP, FAAEM
405 West Fifth Street # 301A
Santa Ana, CA 92701
sstratton@ochca.com
Phone (714) 834-2824

David Van Stralen
Riverside County

David Van Stralen, M.D.
PO Box 7600
Riverside, CA 92513
dvstralen@rivcocha.org
(951) 358-5029

Hernando Garzon
Sacramento County

Hernando Garzon, M.D., FACEP
9616 Micron Ave, #635
Sacramento, CA 95827
garzonh@saccounty.net
(916) 875-9753

Dave Ghilarducci
San Benito County

Dave Ghilarducci, M.D.
1111 San Felipe Rd., #102
Hollister, CA 95023
daveghil@mac.com
(831) 636-4066

Dave Ghilarducci
Santa Cruz County

Dave Ghilarducci, M.D.
1080 Emeline Avenue
Santa Cruz, CA 95060
daveghil@mac.com
(831) 454-4000

Kristi Koenig
San Diego County

Kristi Koenig, MD
6255 Mission Gorge Road0
San Diego, CA 92120
kkoenig@uci.eduv
(619) 285-6429

John Brown
City and County of San Francisco County

John Brown, MD, MPA, FACEP
30 Van Ness, #3300
San Francisco, CA 94102
John.Brown@sfgov.org
(415) 487-5034

Richard Buys
San Joaquin County

Richard Buys, M.D.
PO Box 220
French Camp, CA 95231
richnb@softcom.net
(209) 468-6818

Thomas G. Ronay
San Luis Obispo County

Thomas G. Ronay, M.D.
2180 Johnson Ave, 2nd Fl
San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
tronay@sloemsa.org
(805) 546-8728

Gregory H. Gilbert
San Mateo County

Gregory H. Gilbert, M.D., FAAEM
225 37TH Avenue
San Mateo, CA 94403
ghgilbert@stanford.edu
(650) 573-2564

Angelo Salvucci
Santa Barbara County

Angelo Salvucci, M.D.
300 North San Antonio Rd.
Santa Barbara, CA 93110
salvucci@silcom.com
805-681-5274

Ken Miller
Santa Clara County

Ken Miller, MD, PhD
700 Empey Way
San Jose, CA 95128
408-794-0615
kenneth.miller@ems.sccgov.org

Troy Falck
Sierra-Sacramento Valley EMS Agency

Troy Falck, M.D., FACEP, FAAEM
5995 Pacific St.
Rocklin, CA 95677
troy.falck@ssvems.com
(916) 625-1700

Bryn Mumma
Solano County

Bryn Mumma, MD
275 Beck Ave., MS5-240
Fairfield, CA 94533
bemumma@ucdavis.edu
(707) 784-8155

Michael L. MacLean
Tulare County

Michael L. MacLean, M.D.
1062 South K St.
Tulare, CA 93274
(559) 685-2500

Todd Stolp
Tuolumne County

Kimberly Freeman, MD, FACEP, NREMT-P
20111 Cedar Road North
Sonora, CA 95370
kfreeman@co.tuolumne.ca.us
(209) 533-7460

Daniel Shepherd
Ventura County

Daniel Shepherd, M.D.
2220 E. Gonzalez Rd. #130
Oxnard, CA 93036
dcs261@gmail.com
(805) 981-5304

John Rose
Yolo County

John Rose, MD
137 N Cottonwood St., Suite 2601
Woodland, CA 95695
jsrose@ucdavis.edu
Phone (530) 666-8645

Nicole Bosson
Los Angeles County
Asst. EMS Medical Director

Nichole Bosson, MD, MPH
10100 Pioneer Blvd., #200
Santa Fe Springs, CA 90670
nichole.bosson@gmail.com

Katherine Shafer
San Joaquin County
Asst. EMS Medical Director

Kathrine Shafer, MD
kashafer@gmail.com

Associate Members

Joe Barger, MD
Medical Director Emeritus





Mark Bason-Mitchell, M.D.
Marin County Fire Dept.
mitchlacer@comcast.com

Kent Benedict, MD
Medical Director Emeritus

David Chase, MD, FACEP
Ventura County Fire Dept.
David.Chase@ventura.org

Joelle Donofrio, MD, FACEP
UCSD, Department of Emergency Medicine
jjdonofrio@gmail.com

Peter Dsouza, MD
Stanford Life Flight
pdsouza@stanford.edu

v

Dave Duncan, M.D.
CALFIRE & CalStar

Jay Goldman, M.D.
Kaiser Permanente - Ambulance Services
Jay.goldman@kp.org

Gene Hern, MD FACEP
Oakland FD, Berkeley FD, AMR Contra Costa
emergentt@gmail.com

Clayton Kazan
LA County Fire
clayton.kazan@fire.lacounty.gov

Senai Kidane, MD, FACEP
Paramedics Plus
skidane@paramedicsplus.com

Kristi L. Koenig, MD, FACEP, FIFEM
kkoenig@uci.edu

Angelica Loza, MD
Glendale Fire Dept.
Angieloza3@gmail.com


David Malmud, MD, FACEP
AMR/ San Mateo/San Francisco
David.Malmud@ucsf.edu

Garry McCalla, MD
REACH Air
Gary.Mccalla@reachair.com

Mary Mercer, MD
UCSF/SF General Hospital
Mary.mercer@ucsf.edu

Howie Michaels, M.D.
San Jose Fire Dept.

Bill Mulkerin, M.D.
bill.mulkerin@gmail.com

Joe Nakagawa, MD
Medical Director, McCormick Ambulance Co
Tactical Medicine, Hawthorne Police Department
jnakagawa@gmail.com

Jim Pointer, MD
Medical Director Emeritus

April Remelii, M.D.
april.ramelli@gmail.com

David Riggs, M.D.
Kern County Fire Department
dr28199@hotmail.com

Brett Rosen, MD
brettarosen@gmail.com

Joseph Ryan, M.D.
SEMSA
josephlryan@att.net

Brian Savino, M.D.
Loma Linda, Department of Emergency Medicine
psavino@live.com

Schira Schlesinger, M.D.
Newport Beach Fire Department
sschlesi@uci.edu

David Shatz, M.D.
Sacramento Metro Fire Dept.
David.shatz@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu

Ben Squire, M.D.
Pasadena Fire Dept.
benjaminsquire@gmail.com

Gary Tamkin, M.D.
CHP
gtamkin@icloud.com

Bill Teufel, MD, FACEP
Medical Director Emeritus





Steve Tharratt, MD, FACEP
Medical Director Emeritus





Atilla Uner, MD, MPH, FAAEM, FACEP
Reach Air Medical Services
UCLA Center for Prehospital Care
auner@ucla.edu

Jack Wood, D.O.
National College of Technical Instruction
fivewood@winfirst.com

Clement Yeh, MD, FACP
EMS Medical Director - San Francisco Fire Department
Clement.Yeh@emergency.ucsf.edu

Marc Yellin
AMR/Santa Cruz, San Benito, Monterey
marc54@cruzio.com

Fellow Members

Kathy Staats, MD
UCSD Fellow
katherinestaats@gmail.com

Melody Glenn, MD
UCSF Fellow
melodyglenn2013@gmail.com

Ashley Sanello
Fellow Harbor UCLA
crashly26@gmail.com

Romeo Fairley, MD
Disaster Fellow UCI
romeo.fairley@gmail.com

Eric Silverman, MD
UCSF Fellow
Eric.Silverman@ucsf.edu

Calvin Kong, MD
Stanford Fellow
dinocalvin@gmail.com

Krystal Baciak, MD
Fellow LAFD, LAC+USC
krystal.baciak@gmail.com

Cal Chiefs Reps

Leslie Parham
Cal Chiefs South

Kimberly Roderick
Cal Chiefs North

Contact Us
  • slide-2
    9-1-1 Dysfunction
    9-1-1 Dysfunction
Gov. Jerry Brown

Dear Governor Brown:
We want to bring to your attention a serious problem we see with the 9-1-1 system in California.

Read More
Letter to

Jerry Brown

9-1-1 Dysfunction Summaries

A summary of the articles referenced here. Full text of the articles are available by clicking "Read More" link for each article.

Read More
9-1-1 Dysfunction

Summaries

lights and sirens

A common tenet in emergency medical services (EMS) is that faster response equates to better patient outcome...

Read More
Prehospital Emergency Care

RESPONSE TIME AND MORTALITY

pre arrival instructions

Each year, millions of people around the world experience out-of-hospital cardiac arrest (OHCA), a condition characterized by unexpected cardiovascular collapse.

Read More
Circulation

Prearrival Instructions

OHCA

[D]ecreased response time interval and the use of two-tier rather than one-tier EMS systems may each be associated with significantly greater survival.

Read More
Annals of EM

Effectiveness of EMS in OHCA

stopwatch

The introduction of technology aimed at reducing the response times of emergency medical services has been one of the principal innovations over the last several decades.

Read More
Health Economics

Do Response Times Matter?